Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko Ā Urunga - 22/10/2012

1 He Whakamārama

He Kupu Whakataki

E whakahaeretia ana te Arotake Tāpiri i runga i te whai whakaaro a tētahi o Ngā Kaiwhakahaere-a-Rohe o Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga, kia whakahaeretia tēnei.

E arotake ana te arotake tāpiri i te whānui me te whai hua o ngā mahi kua mahia e te whānau o te kōhanga, ki te whakatutuki i ngā take motuhake i pupū ake i roto i ta rātou arotake mātauranga o mua atu i tēnei, i ēra atu take rānei kua kitea mai i taua arotake.

Ngā Whakataunga mō ngā Whakapuakitanga

I whakaritea tēnei arotake tāpiri i runga i te aro mātai i ngā whakahaere a te rōpu whakahaere o Te Kōhanga Reo Upoko ā Urunga e pa ana ki ngā wāhanga i kitea i roto i te ripoata a ERO i te marama o Hui-tanguru 2010, i ēra atu take rānei kua pupū ake mai i taua arotake. Ko ngā whakataunga mo ngā whakapuakitanga o tēnei arotake, ko te āta titiro ki:

  • te whakamāherehere me te aromātai - tae atu ki te whai wāhitanga o ngā mātua o te whānau, te whakatakotoranga o te māhere rautaki, te whakapakaritanga o ngā pūrongo, te hōtaka whakatakoto māhere me te aroturuki tipuranga ako a ngā tamariki
  • ēra atu tino take ka pupū ake i te wā e whakahaeretia ana tēnei arotake.

Ngā Kōrero e pā ana ki te Kōhanga Reo

Te tūwāhi

Kei Wainuiomata, ki Awakairangi

Te tau a te Tāhuhu o te Mātauranga

64057

Te tūmomo whare

He Kōhanga Reo

Te maha mō te raihana

50 tekau kei raro iho i te rua ngā tau

Te maha kei runga i te rārangi ingoa

24 tokorima kei raro iho i te rua ngā tau

Te ira tangata

Kōtiro 16 Tama Tāne 8

Ngā hononga ā-iwi

Māori 23 Pākehā 1

Te wā o te arotake

Here-turi-kōkā 2012

Te wā o tēnei pūrongo

Whiringa-ä-nuku 2012

Ngā pūrongo o mua ā te Tari Arotake Mātauranga

Arotake Tāpiri, Hui-tanguru 2010 Arotake Tāpiri, Here-turi-kōkā 2008 Arotake Tāpiri, Kohi-tātea 2006

2 Te Aromātai a te Tari Arotake Mātauranga

Kei Wainuiomata Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko ā Urunga. Ko te pūrongo arotake tāpiri tuatoru tēnei mai i te Kohi-tātea 2006. I taunakitia te pūrongo o mua kia pai ake ai te whanau ki te whakamāherehere me te aromātai i ngā wahanga huri noa i te kōhanga reo, arā, te whai wāhitanga a ngā matua, te whakatakoto māhere rautaki, te whakapakari i ngā tūkanga whakarite pūrongo, te hōtaka whakamāherehere me te aroturuki i te tipuranga o ngā tamariki.

I te Paenga-whāwhā 2012, i tohua tētahi kaiwhakahaere hou e te whānau, ā, nā rātou te pūnaha whakahaere i whakarerekē i te kōhanga reo. I whakatūria tētahi kōmiti, ā, ka mahi tahi te kōmiti me te kaiwhakahaere ki te hāpai i ngā mahi o ia rā. Nā tēnei, he tino pai ake te whai wāhitanga a ngā mātua ki te kōhanga reo. He whai take, he whai hua, ā, he pai rawa ngā whakaritenga whakawhiti whakaaro me ngā whakaritenga tuku pūrongo i ngā wā katoa.

He whānui, he hōhonu ngā māhere ako, ā, e hāngai ana te hōtaka ako ki ngā matea whānui me ngā hiahia o ngā tamariki. Ka āta kohikohi ngā kaimahi i ngā mōhiohio e pā ana ki ngā akoranga o ngā tamariki, ā, ka tuku atu ngā kōrero ki te whānau. Kei roto i ngā pūkete kōrero a ngā tamariki ko ngā mōhiohio e pā ana ki te mahi a ngā tamariki ki te kōhanga reo me ngā tohu whakaputa e hāngai ai ki o rātou tipuranga.

Me whai wāhi nga kaimahi ki te tāutu i ngā tino putanga ako mā ngā tamariki i ngā wā ka whakamāherehere me te aromātai rātou kia pakari ake ai ngā tūkanga aromatawai.

Ka tāututia e te whānau ko te mahi arotake whaiaro i te māhere rautaki te kaupapa nui hei whakatutuki mō te tau 2012. E mahi tahi ana rātou, ā, e āta whai whakaaro ana rātou kia pai ake ai a rātou mahi ki ngā kōrero o Te Ara Tūāpae.

Ngā Mahi ā Meake Nei

E whakaae ana te Tari Arotake Mātauranga kei te whakahaeretia te kōhanga hei painga mō ngā tamariki. Nō reira, ka arotakehia anō e te Tari Arotake Mātauranga te kōhanga hei wāhanga o te huringa arotake o te wā.

3 Ngā Whakaaturanga

Te whakamāherehere me te aromātai

He whakamārama

I te arotake tāpiri o mua i te Whiringa-ā-nuku 2009, i tirohia e te Tari Arotake Mātauranga te hōtaka ako a ngā tamariki. Ko te whakamāherehere me te aromatawai, te aromātai, ngā whakaritenga o te hōtaka ako me te maha o ngā rauemu hei tautoko i ngā hōtaka.

Ngā wāhanga kua pai ake

Te whai wāhitanga o te whānau.E pai ake ana te whai wāhitanga a ngā matua i te kōhanga reo. E rerekē ana te pūnaha whakahaere i te kōhanga reo. Kua whakatūria tētahi kōmiti, ā, ka mahi tahi te kōmiti me te kaiwhakahaere ki te hāpai i ngā mahi o ia rā. Ka hui te whānau ia marama, ā, ka whai wāhi rātou ki te whakaputa whakaaro hei tautoko i ngā whakaritenga o te hōtaka. Ko te tipuranga ako a ngā tamariki tētahi kaupapa kōrero matua i ngā hui a te whānau.

Te whakapakari i ngā pūongo o ia marama. He whai take, he whai hua, ā, he pai rawa ngā whakaritenga whakawhiti whakaaro me ngā whakaritenga tuku pūrongo i ngā wā katoa. He ōrite te rārangi kaupapa a ngā hui a ngā kaimahi, te kōmiti me ngā hui a te whānau, ā, he ōrite te whakatakotoranga ā-tuhi a ngā mēneti. E tāpiri ana ngā mōhiohio ki ngā taunakitanga katoa, ā, ka whakatakoto ngā taunakitanga hei tono ōkawa. E mau ana ēnei whakamaramatanga ki ngā huinga mēneti. Kua tāututia ngā mahi whakatutuki, ā, ka puta mai ēnei whakatutukitanga hei kaupapa kōrero ki te hui ā-marama whai muri.

Te whakatakotoranga a te māhere rautaki.He pai rawa te whakatakotoranga kōrero a te māhere rautaki, ā, ka nui ngā kōrero whai take. Kua whakaritea he māhere hōhonu mā ia whāinga o te māhere rautaki. Tērā anō tētahi tātaritanga e āta arai ana i a rātou, ā, ka noho te tātaritanga hei wahanga motuhake o te māhere. Ka tautoko tēnei tukanga i te mahi arotake whaiaro a te whānau. Ka tāututia e te whānau ko te mahi arotake whaiaro i te māhere rautaki te kaupapa nui hei whakatutuki mō te tau 2012. E mahi tahi ana rātou, ā, e āta whai whakaaro ana rātou kia hāngai pai ake ai a rātou mahi ki ngā kōrero o Te Ara Tūāpae.

Te hōtaka whakamāherehere. He whãnui, he hōhonu ngā māhere ako, ā, e hāngai ana te hōtaka ako ki ngā matea whānui me ngā hiahia o ngā tamariki. E hāngai ana ngā māhere kiTe Whāriki. Kua whakaritea te hōtaka e ngā kaiako hei painga mō ngā tamariki. Ko te māhere ā-wiki me te māhere o te rā e arahi ana i a rātou, ā, e tino mōhio ana rātou i te mahi hei whakatutuki ia rā. Ka noho ngātahi ngā kaimahi ki te whakatakoto māhere me te aromātai, ā, nā tēnei tūāhua tukanga mahi tahi e piki ana ō rātou mātauranga. Ka riro te committee me te whānau i ngā mōhiohio e pā ana ki ngā hōtaka i ngā wā katoa.

Te aroturuki i te tipuranga ako o ngā tamariki. Ka āta kohikohi ngā kaimahi i ngā mōhiohio e pā ana ki ngā akoranga o ngā tamariki, ā, ka tuku atu ngā kōrero ki te whānau. Kei roto i ngā pūkete kōrero a ngā tamariki ko ngā mōhiohio e pā ana ki te mahi a ngā tamariki ki te kōhanga reo me ngā tohu whakaputa e hāngai ai ki a rātou tipuranga.

Ngā wāhanga hei whakapai ake anō

Te aromatawai i ngā putanga ako mā ngā tamariki. Kāore ngā māhere ako e hāngai pai ana ki ngā putanga ako mā ngā tamariki i ngā wā katoa. I tāututia ngā putanga ako e ngā kaimahi mō te rā i whakaritea hei rā kaumatua. Mā te whakamāherehere ōrite e pā ana ki te ako i te reo ka pai ake te tipuranga ako a ngā tamariki. Kia haere tonu te mahi arotake whaiaro ka pai ake ngā kaimahi ki te whakatakoto māhere hei tautoko i ngā matea o tēnā tamaiti me tēnā tamaiti.

4 Ngā Tūtohunga

I whakawhanakehia e te Tari Arotake Mātauranga me te whānau o te kōhanga reo ngā taunakitanga e whai ake nei, arā:

  • kia oti te Arotake i te tūtohinga o te kōhanga reo
  • kia Hāngai te māhere rautaki ki Te Ara Tūāpae

5 Ngā Mahi ā Meake Nei

E whakaae ana te Tari Arotake Mātauranga kei te whakahaeretia te kōhanga hei painga mō ngā tamariki. Nō reira, ka arotakehia anō e te Tari Arotake Mātauranga te kōhanga hei wāhanga o te huringa arotake o te wā.

Ani Rolleston

Kaiwhakahaere ā-Motu mō ngā Ratonga Arotake Māori (Te Uepū ā-Motu)

22 Whiringa-ä-nuku 2012

1 Background

Introduction

A supplementary review is undertaken at the discretion of a National Manager in the Education Review Office (ERO).

A supplementary review evaluates the extent and effectiveness of actions a kōhanga reo has taken towards addressing issues specified in its previous ERO review and/or any additional areas identified since that review.

Terms of Reference

Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko ā UrungaThis supplementary review is based on an evaluation of the performance ofgoverning body and management in relation to areas identified in the February 2010ERO report or issues identified since that review. The terms of reference for this review are to investigate:

  • planning and evaluation - including whānau participation, strategic planning, strengthening reporting - programme planning and monitoring children’s progress
  • any issues identified since the previous review.

About the Kōhanga Reo

Location

Wainuiomata, Lower Hutt

Ministry of Education profile number

64057

Type

Kōhanga Reo

Number licensed for

50 including 10 under 2 years old

Roll number

24 including 5 under 2 years old

Gender composition

Girls 16

Boys 8

Ethnic composition

Māori 23 Pākehā 1

Review team onsite

August, 2012

Date of this report

October 2012

Previous ERO reports

Supplementary Review, February 2010

Supplementary Review, August 2008

Supplementary Review, January 2006

2 The Education Review Office (ERO) Evaluation

Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko ā Urunga is located in Wainuiomata. This is the third supplementary review report since January 2006. The previous report recommended that whānau improve planning and evaluation practices across the kōhanga reo including whānau participation, strategic planning, strengthening reporting, programme planning and monitoring children’s progress.

In April 2012, the whānau appointed a new kaiwhakahaere and they restructured whānau management of the kōhanga reo. A committee was appointed to work with the kaiwhakahaere to manage the day to day operations of the kōhanga reo. As a result, whānau participation in the kōhanga reo has improved significantly. Communication and reporting across the kōhanga reo is consistent, transparent and effectively managed. The whānau meets monthly and contributes to planning and monitoring the programme. Children’s progress is the priority focus during whānau meetings.

Programme plans are detailed and show they cater for children with a range of developmental needs and interests. Kaimahi consistently gather information about children’s learning and share this with whānau. Profiles include information about what children do at kōhanga reo and some indications of their progress. Kaimahi must identify specific learning outcomes for children during the planning and evaluation stages of their work to improve assessment practices further,

The whānau has identified a review of the strategic plan as a priority for 2012. They are working towards greater alignment with Te Ara Tūāpae.

Future Action

ERO is confident that the kōhanga is being managed in the interests of the children. Therefore ERO will review the kōhanga again as part of the regular review cycle.

3 Findings

Planning and Evaluation

Background

During the previous supplementary review in October 2009, ERO looked at the learning programme for children. This included planning and assessment, evaluation, resource accessibility and programme organisation.

Areas of progress

Whānau participation.Whānau participation in the kōhanga reo management and operations has improved significantly. There has been a restructure of the kōhanga reo management. There is a designated committee who works with the kaiwhakahaere to manage the day to day operations. This group presents recommendations at whānau hui. The whānau meets monthly and contributes to planning the programme. Children’s progress is the priority for discussion during whānau hui.

Strengthening monthly reporting.Communication and reporting across the kōhanga reo is consistent, transparent and effectively managed. The committee, whānau and kaimahi hui follow the same format and minutes are recorded using a standard template. All recommendations are presented as formal proposals with supporting information provided as part of the documentation. This background information is kept with each set of minutes. Actions are clearly identified and allocated time for following up at the next monthly hui.

Strategic planning.The current strategic plan is well constructed and carefully considered. There is a detailed plan for each of the strategic goals. A rigorous risk analysis is included as part of the plan. This process supports strategic self review for the whānau. The whānau has identified review of the strategic plan as a priority for 2012. They are working towards greater alignment with Te Ara Tūāpae.

Programme planning.Programme plans are detailed and cater for children’s range of developmental needs and interests. Plans are linked toTe Whāriki.Kaiamahi ensure that the programme is appropriate for children. They are guided by weekly and daily plans and know what is expected of them each day. Kaimahi plan and evaluate the programme collectively to build their capacity as a team. The committee and whānau receive information about the programme regularly.

Monitoring children’s progress.Kaimahi consistently gather information about children’s learning and share this with whānau. Profiles include information about what children do at kōhanga reo and some indications of their progress.

Areas for further improvement

Assessing learning outcomes for children.Programme plans do not consistently include expected learning outcomes for children. Kaimahi identified appropriate learning outcomes for children in the planned kaumātua day. More consistent planning in relation to language learning is likely to increase the focus on children’s progress. Ongoing reflection should further support kaimahi to plan for the individual needs of children.

4 Recommendations

ERO and the kōhanga reo whānau developed the following recommendation(s):

  • to complete the review of the kōhanga charter
  • to align the strategic plan to Te Ara Tūāpae.

5 Future Action

ERO is confident that the kōhanga is being managed in the interests of the children. Therefore ERO will review the kōhanga again as part of the regular review cycle.

Ani Rolleston

National Manager Review Services Māori (Te Uepū ā-Motu)

22 October 2012

22 October 2012

To the Parents and Community of Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko ā Urunga

This supplementary review evaluates the quality of education and care received by the tamariki and the performance of the whānau in relation to specific terms of reference.

The Education Review Office [ERO] evaluation of Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko ā Urunga follows.

Te Kōhanga Reo o Upoko ā Urunga is located in Wainuiomata. This is the third supplementary review report since January 2006. The previous report recommended that whānau improve planning and evaluation practices across the kōhanga reo including whānau participation, strategic planning, strengthening reporting, programme planning and monitoring children’s progress.

In April 2012, the whānau appointed a new kaiwhakahaere and they restructured whānau management of the kōhanga reo. A committee was appointed to work with the kaiwhakahaere to manage the day to day operations of the kōhanga reo. As a result, whānau participation in the kōhanga reo has improved significantly. Communication and reporting across the kōhanga reo is consistent, transparent and effectively managed. The whānau meets monthly and contributes to planning and monitoring the programme. Children’s progress is the priority focus during whānau meetings.

Programme plans are detailed and show they cater for children with a range of developmental needs and interests. Kaimahi consistently gather information about children’s learning and share this with whānau. Profiles include information about what children do at kōhanga reo and some indications of their progress. Kaimahi must identify specific learning outcomes for children during the planning and evaluation stages of their work to improve assessment practices further,

The whānau has identified a review of the strategic plan as a priority for 2012. They are working towards greater alignment with Te Ara Tūāpae.

Future Action

ERO is confident that the kōhanga is being managed in the interests of the children. Therefore ERO will review the kōhanga again as part of the regular review cycle.

When ERO has reviewed a kōhanga reo we ask the whānau of the kōhanga reo to let us know how they intend to manage any difficulties set out in their report (copies of which are available from the kōhanga reo or ERO). We also encourage whānau to inform their community of any follow up action plan. You should talk to the whānau if you have any questions about this evaluation, the full ERO report or their future intentions.

Ani Rolleston

National Manager Review Services Māori (Te Uepū ā-Motu)

GENERAL INFORMATION ABOUT REVIEWS

About ERO

ERO is an independent, external evaluation agency that undertakes reviews of kura kaupapa Māori and kōhanga reo throughout New Zealand.

About ERO Reviews

ERO follows a set of standard procedures to conduct reviews. The purpose of each review is to:

  • improve quality of education for children in kōhanga reo; and
  • provide information to parents, communities and the Government.

Reviews are intended to focus on outcomes for tamariki and build on each kōhanga reo self review.

Review Focus

ERO’s framework for reviewing and reporting is based on four review strands.

  • Planning and Evaluation– in particular the quality of planning and evaluation. This area is most likely to support long term improvement. Implicit in this is the quality of whānau management and the quality of education.
  • Kōhanga Reo Priorities– based onTe Whāriki,thewhānau through their management and programme, influence positive outcomes for tamariki.
  • Compliance with Legal Requirements– assurance that this kōhanga reo has taken all reasonable steps to meet legal requirements.

Review Coverage

ERO reviews do not cover every aspect of kōhanga reo performance and each ERO report may cover different issues. The aim is to provide information on aspects that are central to positive outcomes for tamariki and useful to this kōhanga reo.

Review Recommendations

Most ERO reports include recommendations for improvement. A recommendation on a particular issue does not necessarily mean that a kōhanga reo is performing poorly in relation to that issue. There is no direct link between the number of recommendations in this report and the overall performance of this kōhanga reo.