Te Puna Reo o Wairaka - 01/03/2013

1 Evaluation of the Service

How well placed is the service to promote positive outcomes for children?

Te Puna Reo o Wairaka is well placed to promote and sustain positive outcomes for children. There is a high level of commitment shown by governance, management, staff and whānau, after a period of major upheaval, to re-establish and maintain a high quality centre for Kaupapa Māori Early Childhood Education

Context

Te Puna Reo o Wairaka is a bilingual kaupapa Māori early childhood facility located in Point Chevalier, Auckland. It is one of three early childhood centres operating at the Institute of Technology (UNITEC). The centre caters for children of students and staff at UNITEC as well as the surrounding community. The Puna Reo o Wairaka has undergone a change of ownership when the USU students Association at Unitec bought the puna reo in April 2012.

Review Findings

The puna reo whānau is working effectively toward revitalising their centre.

A new centre manager was appointed in July 2012. She has been instrumental in restructuring programmes to focus on children and to build staff capacity. Professional and personal development learning supports staff and whānau members to work congenially and collaboratively.

Kaiako across the puna reo provide a well balanced curriculum for children and a quality learning environment where resources are accessible to children to support their learning.

A native bush area and a new outdoor play area for babies creates a calm and welcoming environment. The physical environment now offers children opportunities that stimulate exploration, creativity, expressive play and a range of kaupapa learning experiences. Many kaiako are new to the puna reo. The priorities for kaiako are to gain qualifications and increase their te reo Māori capability. Programmes are planned with a specific focus on te ao Māori. Opportunities are sought to promote, support and celebrate te reo and ngā tikanga Māori. Well presented individual profiles capture significant learning experiences. Parents are encouraged to share in assessing their children.

Whanaungatanga values are paramount in building and strengthening relationships with children, staff, whānau and management. A major focus for 2012 was settling children in and establishing clear routines to enhance their sense of well being and belonging. Children are happy and settled at their puna reo.

Te reo and ngā tikanga Māori are major priorities for governance, management, staff and whānau of Te Puna Reo o Wairaka. New resources and the redevelopment of the educational outdoor play and learning areas better reflects the whānau kaupapa Māori educational aspirations. Redevelopment of this area continues to be a priority. Several whānau members are fluent speakers of te reo Māori and have high expectations for te reo Māori and ngā tikanga Māori to be the vehicle for all learning at the puna. Kaiako consistently use te reo Māori at their own level. However, there is a focus for all kaimahi to further develop and strengthen their te reo Māori capability. Children generally understand te reo Māori spoken to them and some children respond to questions and statements.

Key Next Steps

The governance, management, staff and whānau of Te Puna Reo o Wairaka acknowledge:

  • that policy review and amendment is long overdue and needs to be addressed and they need to review policies and procedures to better reflect their current whānau aspirations and direction
  • the need to continue to establish and implement practices and systems to enhance and strengthen kaupapa Māori learning at the puna reo.

2 Legal Requirements

Management Assurance on Legal Requirements

During the review, ERO looked at the service’s systems for managing the following areas that have a potentially high impact on children's wellbeing:

  • emotional safety (including positive guidance and child protection)
  • physical safety (including supervision; sleep procedures; accidents; medication; hygiene; excursion policies and procedures)
  • suitable staffing (including qualification levels; police vetting; teacher registration; ratios)
  • evacuation procedures and practices for fire and earthquake.

All early childhood services are required to promote children's health and safety and to regularly review their compliance with legal requirements.

3 Next Review

When is ERO likely to review the early childhood service again?

ERO is likely to carry out the next review in three years.

Makere Smith

National Manager Review Services Māori (Te Uepū-ā-Motu)

1 March 2013

1 Te aromātai i te ratonga

He pēhea te kaha o te ratonga ki te whakatairanga i ngā putanga takatika mō ngā tamariki?

He pai te tūranga o Te Puna Reo o Wairaka ki te whakatairanga me te rōnaki i ngā putanga takatika mō ngā tamariki. E kitea ana te tino ngākaunui o te rōpū kāwana, ngā kaiwhakahaere, ngā kaimahi me te whānau o muri mai i tētahi wā heihei, ki te whakarite anō me te mau ki tētahi pokapū kairangi e hāpai ake ana i te mātauranga kōhungahunga a kaupapa Māori.

Te horopaki

Kei Point Chevalier i Tāmaki Makaurau Te Puna Reo o Wairaka. He pokapū kōhungahunga kaupapa Māori tēnei e whakahaere ana ki ngā reo e rua. Ko tēnei tētahi o ngā pokapū kōhungahunga e toru kei TeWhare Takiura ki Wairaka. Kei te whare takiura ngā mātua o te nuinga o ngā tamariki kei tēnei pokapū.

Ngā kitenga o te arotake

He tōtika te mahi o te whānau o te puna reo ki te whakaora anō i tō rātou pokapū.

I whakatūria tētahi kaiwhakahaere hou mō te puna reo i te tau 2012. Ko ia tētahi e whai mana ana ki te whakarite i ngā hōtaka kia arotahi ki ngā tamariki me te whakakaha anō i ngā kaimahi. Ka hāpai te ako whakawhanake ngaiotanga, whaiarotanga i ngā kaimahi me ngā mema o te whānau ki te mahi ngātahi.

Ka whakarato ngā kaiako puta noa i te puna reo i tētahi marautanga taurite mā ngā tamariki me tētahi taio akoranga kairangi he māmā mā ngā tamariki te tiki rauemi hei hāpai ake i tō rātou ako.

Ko te mutunga mai o te ngahere Māori me te papatākaro hou i waho mō ngā pepi ko tētahi taiao tau, taiao maioha. Ka whakarato te taiao-ā-tinana ināia nei i ngā whai wāhitanga mā ngā tamariki ki te tuhura, te mahi auaha, te tākaro auaha me te whānui o ngā wheako akoranga a kaupapa. He hou te maha o ngā kaiako ki te puna reo. Ko ngā whāinga matua mā ngā kaiako ko te whiwhi tohu me te whakanui ake i o rātou kaha ki te reo Māori. Ka whakamaere ngā hōtaka me tētahi arotahi tauwhāiti ki te ao Māori. Ka whai wāhi ki te whakatairanga, te hāpai me te whakanui i te reo me ngā tikanga Māori. Ka hopu ngā kōpaki mahi ataahua i ngā tino wheako akoranga o tēna, o tēna o ngā tamariki. Ka akina ngā tamariki ki te whai wāhi ki te aromatawai i a rātou tamariki.

He tino nui te whanaungatanga ki te hanga me te whakakaha i te whanaungatanga me ngā tamariki, ngā kaimahi, te whānau me ngā kaimwhakahaere. Ko tētahi tino aronga mō 2012 ko te whakatau i ngā tamariki me te whakarite i ngā mahi mārama mō ia rā hei whakarei ake i tō rātou toioranga me tō rātou toiwhenua. He harikoa, he tau ngā tamariki ki tō rātou puna reo.

Ko te reo me ngā tikanga Māori ētahi whāinga matua mō te rōpū kāwana, ngā kaiwhakahaere, ngā kaimahi me te whānau o Te Puna Reo o Wairaka. Nā te hoko rauemi hou me te whanake anō i te papatākaro me ngā wāhi ako ā mātauranga kua pai ake te whakaatu i ngā wawata mātauranga kaupapa Māori o te whānau. K te whakawhanake tonu i tēnei wāhi tētahi tino whāinga o te wā. He kaikōrero matatau ki te reo Māori ētahi o te whānau, ā, he tino tumanaka o rātou kia noho ko te reo me ngā tikanga Māori te waka kawe i ngā akoranga katoa i te puna reo. Ka kōrero Māori ngā kaiako i ngā wā katoa ki ngā taumata ka taea e rātou. Heoi, he arotahinga tonu kia whanake anō, kia whakakaha anō ngā kaimahi i o rātou kaha ki te reo Māori. Kei te mārama ngā tamariki ki te reo kōrero kia rātou, ā, ka taea e ētahi o ngā tamariki te whakautu ki ngā pātai me ngā tauāki.

Ngā mahi matua a meake nei

Kei te whakaae mai te rōpū kāwana, ngā kaiawhakahaere, ngā kaimahi me te whānau o Te Puna Reo o Wairaka:

  • kua roa rawa te arotake me te tīni i ngā kaupapa here, ā, me tahuri rātou ki te arotake i ngā kaupapa here me ngā tukanga kia pai ake te whakaatu i ngā moemoea me te ahunga o te whānau
  • me tahuri rātou ki te whakatū me te whakatinana tonu i ngā mahi me ngā pūnaha hei whakarei ake, hei whakakaha ake i te ako a kaupapa Māori ki te puna reo.

2 Ngā hanganga ture

Ngā Kupu Tūturu a te Rōpū Whakahaere mō ngā Wāhanga Tautukunga

I te wā o te arotake i titiro Te Tari Arotake Mātauranga ki ngā pūnaha o te ratonga mō te whakahaere i ngā wāhi e whai ake nei e tino pākaha tūpono ana ki te oranga o ngā tamariki:

  • te haumaru ā whatumanawa(tae atu ana ki te arahi takatika me te ārai i te tamaiti)
  • te haumaru ā tinana(tae atu ana ki te mātaki i ngā tamariki, ngā tukanga whakamoe, ngā aituā, ngā rongoā, te noho mā o te kōhanga, ngā kaupapa here me ngā tukanga e pā ana ki ngā haerenga)
  • kia tika ngā mahi whakahaere kaimahi (tae atu ana ki ngā taumata tohu, te whakawātea o ngā kaimahi i Te Tari Pirihimana, te rehitatanga o ngā kaiako, me te rahi o ngā kaimahi ki ngā tamariki)
  • ngā tukanga me ngā mahi puta ohorere i te kōhanga ki te tahu te whare ki te ahi, ki te rū whenua rānei.

E tika ana kia whakatairanga ngā ratonga kōhungahunga katoa i te hauora me te haumaru o ngā tamariki me te arotake i ia wā i o rātou hanganga ture.

3 Te arotake a muri nei

Hei ā hea te Tari Arotake Mātauranga arotake anō ai i te ratonga kōhungahunga?

Tērā ka whakahaeretia e te Tari Arotake Mātauranga te arotake whai muri, i roto i ngā tau e toru.

Information about the Early Childhood Service

Location

Point Chevalier, Auckland

Ministry of Education profile number

10214

Licence type

Māori ECE Service

Licensed under

Education (Early Childhood Centres) Regulations 1998

Number licensed for

37 children, including up to 12 aged under 2

Gender composition

Boys 16

Girls 17

Percentage of qualified teachers

80%

Reported ratios of staff to children

Under 2

1:3

Exceeds minimum requirements

 

Over 2

1:6

Exceeds minimum requirements

Review team on site

January 2013

Date of this report

1 March 2013

Most recent ERO report(s)

Education Review

Education Review

September 2009

June 2008

General Information about Early Childhood Reviews

About ERO Reviews

The Education Review Office (ERO) is the New Zealand government department that reviews schools and early childhood services throughout New Zealand.

Review focus

ERO's education reviews in early childhood services focus on the factors that contribute to positive learning outcomes for children. ERO evaluates how well placed the service is to make and sustain improvements for the benefit of all children at the service. To reach these findings ERO considers:

  • Pou Whakahaere – how the service determines its vision, philosophy and direction to ensure positive outcomes for children
  • Pou Ārahi – how leadership is enacted to enhance positive outcomes for children
  • Mātauranga – whose knowledge is valued and how the curriculum is designed to achieve positive outcomes for children
  • Tikanga whakaako – how approaches to teaching and learning respond to diversity and support positive outcomes for children.

Within these areas ERO considers the effectiveness of self review and partnerships with parents and whānau.

Review Coverage

ERO reviews do not cover every aspect of service performance and each ERO report may cover different issues. The aim is to provide information on aspects that are central to positive outcomes for children and useful to the service.